Oh this broken heart

In honor of Valentine’s day, and as a tribute to Sound Opinions, I am creating my own list of sad love songs.  I am stealing one of their best, but I have room on my list for more.  Suggestions?

  1. Ain’t No Sunshine – Bill Withers
  2. I Don’t Know Why – Stevie Wonder
  3. Eleanor Rigby – Beatles
  4. Nineteen – Old 97s
  5. Lonely Teardrops – Jackie Wilson
  6. Great Pretender – Silver Platters
  7. Iowa – Dar Williams
  8. Pink Triangle – Weezer
  9. Last Kiss – J. Frank

The title is the mix name.

2 comments

  1. Zubin

    I like “Cryin” by Aerosmith. But that song is really about drug addiction.

    In fact, it’s fun to imagine other sad love songs are really about drug addiction. “I couldn’t stop so I swerved to the right” takes on a whole new meaning.

  2. Marisa

    I think i might also add Sitting on the Dock of the Bay; Otis’ heart isn’t broken about a lady either, he just misses his home in Georgia. Still a broken heart. If Georgia is how he refers to his crack pipe, then that is a new meaning as well.

Leave a Reply

