Sigh

Once in a while, you meet someone who probably means well but it’s hard to remember that when they are grating your last nerve. For example, when your Mom’s friend comes over for dinner, and then afterwards when she is cleaning up she says “When I was your age we used to help out!”  I came up with a list of responses

  1. When I am your age, there will be many advances in hair dying technology
  2. When you were my age, your people worshipped the Sun
  3. When I am your age, I won’t make passive-aggressive cuts at other people’s children
  4. When you were my age, a child was not considered a ‘person’ until the age of ten
  5. When you were my age, it was considered rude to tell a twenty minute story about your second wedding to a total stranger.  Coincidentally, it still is today.
  6. When you were my age, you ate from flattened river rocks or woven mats.
  7. When I am your age, a machine will be able to to determine the difference between polite conversation and blatant bragging about offspring.
  8. When I am your age, a giant robot-lizard-man will rule the Earth. 
  9. When you were my age, shoes were very similar to how yours look now, except they were made from the hide of a sled dog.
  10. When I am your age, you’ll be dead.
Leave a Reply

