Guacasia

At the beginning of this recipe I will introduce a “fun fact” relevant to the recipe.  At the end, I will provide the explanation.

FUN FACT: During the making of guacamole last evening, I had to pause to put lime up my nose.Ingredients

  • Two medium avacados
  • One large (or two small) cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 medium (or one small) onion
  • One jalapeno
  • One lime
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • salt and pepper

Remove the avacado pits, and spoon the fruit into a bowl. Mash the avacado with a fork until smooth.

Finely chop the garlic, onion, and jalapeno *.  Add to mashed avacado.

*While chopping jalapeno, I recommend using gloves. If gloves are not an option, wash hands thoroughly before touching face, eyes, mouth, or nose.

Add chili powder and salt and pepper (to taste) to the avacado mix. Stir until ingredients are thoroughly mixed.

Cut the lime in half. Squeeze over guacamole to keep the avacados fresh and bring a bit of a tang.

EXPLANATION:

As you may have guessed from step 2, I touched my nose after chopping the jalapeno.

My nose ring was bothering me, so I adjusted it on the inside. A few seconds later, my nostril began burning. Water did nothing, not even with soap.

After researching the internet, the two top recommendations were lime juice and sour cream, which fortunately were ingredients I already had handy. In truth, I suspect that the origins of these home remedies had more to do with resource availability than curative properties.

The lime provided short term relief, but sour cream really did the trick. Alternating the squeezed out slice of lime and dabs of sour cream, eventually the burning subsided, and I was able to enjoy this delicious and easy-to-make guacamole.

And now that my nose isn’t burning (and I learned my lesson about jalapenos), I’m living in avacado heaven… Guacasia.

Leave a Reply

