A Moving Experience

Logistical Nightmare, part 2

August 16: I mail three boxes of books via USPS Media Mail to my new address.

August 21: I arrive at my new home in Brooklyn, NY.

August 22: Box number 1 arrives. Boxes 2 and 3 are nowhere in sight.

August 24: I check status of boxes online.

  • Enroute, August 21, 2007, 8:54 am, JERSEY CITY, NJ 07097

August 29: I call USPS delivery confirmation number. They remind me that it is 15 business days, not 15 actual days, until boxes will be delivered.

September 1: The fifteen business day deadline has passed. Still no sign of boxes 2 and 3.

September 2: USPS delivery confirmation assures me that the boxes will come “soon.” They can give me no more information than that.

September 4: Classes begin.

September 5: I am forced to purchase books which I already own, because they are still “en route” and I have a test on September 10.

September 6: I call USPS and get really angry. I ask them if there is a way that I can pick them up in Jersey City (“I will take the PATH, I just really need my books!”). I am repeatedly asked if I purchased insurance (“I assumed that when I pay for a service – you will deliver the package to the specified address – that you will perform this service. At that point, insurance seemed unnecessary.”) They give me the customer support number.

September 7: I call the customer support number and beg them to tell me what is happening. Mrs. Jones insists that the packages are most definitely En Route (“They could arrive tomorrow!” she insists, in a strange, non-postal worker moment of optimism). I am doubtful. She informs me she will call Jersey City and find out what is happening.

September 9: I carefully study in the book I intend to return as brand new or “unused”

September 10: While I am in the middle of an entirely terrifying practical quiz, Mrs. Jones leaves me the cheerful message that my packages will be delivered today.

September 10 (later): I arrive home and see no packages. I check the website.

  • Notice Left, September 10, 2007, 3:58 pm, BROOKLYN, NY
  • Notice Left, September 10, 2007, 9:16 am, BROOKLYN, NY

Unable to find a notice (much less two), I resolve to call in the morning.

September 11, 8:00 am: I call the local delivery location and schedule a delivery for my packages on Thursday.

September 11, 8:11 am: My packages arrive. Hallelujah. I return the overpriced, “new” books to the bookstore.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

