Eudora Pro

The Ultimate Electronic Mail for the Internet
Macintosh User Manual
Educational Version

copyright 1995

[first page]
About the Name

Why the name “Eudora”?

When I was looking for a name for my new Post Office Protocol mail program, I thought immediately of the title of a short story I’d read years before: “Why I Live at the P.O.” So I named the program after the author of the story, Eudora Welty.

“Why I Live at the P.O.” can be found in a collection titled A Curtain of Green (Harcourt Brace Jovanovich). I highly recommend reading it, and anything else you can find by Ms. Welty. Her stories are funny, sad, and fascinating; she’s surely one of the great American writers.

-Steve Dorner


Tags: Eudora Pro, Eudora Welty, electronic mail, Post Office, Steve Dorner.

One comment

Leave a Reply

