Goodbye, Goodbye

Famous Farewells, and Responses

  1. Blaine, Richard “Rick” (Humphrey Bogart – Casablanca, 1942)
    Isla, I’m no good at being noble, but it doesn’t take much to see that the problems of three little people don’t amount to a hill of beans in this crazy world. Some day you’ll understand that. Now, now. Here’s looking at you kid.

    Isla [under breath]: patronizing son of a …

  2. Bonaparte, Napoleon, Emperor of France – Farewell to the Old Guard
    I have sacrificed all of my interests to those of the country. I go, but you, my friends, will continue to serve France. Her happiness was my only thought. It will still be the object of my wishes. Do not regret my fate; if I have consented to survive, it is to serve your glory.

    Friend: How about you just serve us a good explanation for freezing to death in Russia?

  3. Lecter, Hannibal “the Cannibal” (Anthony Hopkins – Silence of the Lambs, 1991)
    I do wish we could chat longer, but I’m having an old friend for dinner. Bye.

    Clarice: Julianne Moore is no match for me.
  4. Nixon, Richard M., California politician – Concession speech and farewell, 1962
    Just think how much you’re gonna be missing. You don’t have Nixon to kick around anymore.

    We’re going to keep kicking you until we hear those 15 minutes of tape. Period, the end [kick]

  5. Edward VIII, King of England – Abdication speech, 1936
    I have found it impossible to carry the heavy burden of responsibility . . . without the help and support of the woman I love.

    So now I have to carry it? Never mind, keep the damn throne.
    -Woman He Loves

  6. Dubois, Blanche (A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams, 1947)
    I have always depended on the kindness of strangers.

    Here’s a tip from Blance you won’t forget
    A stranger is a friend you haven’t met.

  7. Lee, Robert E., General of the Army of Northern Virginia -Farewell Address to his Soldiers, 1865
    After four years of arduous service marked by unsurpassed courage and fortitude, the Army of Northern Virginia has been compelled to yield to overwhelming numbers and resources. . . . By the terms of the agreement, officers and men can return to their homes and remain until exchanged. You will take with you the satisfaction that proceeds from a consciousness of duty faithfully performed; and I earnestly pray that a Merciful God will extend to you His blessings and protection.

    Soldiers: …so what you’re saying is, we have to let the slaves go?

  8. Gehrig, Lou – Farewell to baseball, 1939
    I consider myself the luckiest man on the face of the earth.

    I consider myself the luckiest disease on the face of the man.
    -Lou Gerig Disease

  9. MacArthur, Douglas, General – Farewell address to the U.S. Congress
    And, like the old soldier of that ballad, I now close my military career and just fade away, an old soldier who tried to do his duty as God gave him the light to see that duty. Goodbye.

    You don’t think those night vision goggles helped?

  10. Cohan, George M. Cohan – Vaudeville Act Farewell
    My mother thanks you. My father thanks you. My sister thanks you. And I thank you.

    Has this guy seen The Aristocrats?

One comment

Leave a Reply

